Hello from Toronto, Canada

Your chance to introduce yourself and your vehicle
klyttle

Hello from Toronto, Canada

Post by klyttle »

Hello, I am Kris (though I am originally from Montego Bay, Jamaica, West Indies). You guys might be wondering what someone from the tropics is doing in the cold of Canada... well, long story :D .

I have a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering, primarily in power systems, and I currently own a 2008 Suzuki SX4 JLX AWD, which I might consider your ECU (once it matures) for someday. I've seen your videos on YouTube, and, for such a young project, I'm quite impressed with your progress ;) .

The only questions/suggestions I have:

1. I assume you're planning future versions of your "Frankenso" board (now that you're looking to using the TMS570). I hope the new board is a little smaller that what you currently have, because the current one is pretty big.

2. Would using an FPGA (assuming 32-bit, non-volatile) be of any help to your efforts? This is not really my area of expertise, but I was looking at Altera (possibly their MAX 10) or Lattice (this one might be more of a long-shot from an OS point-of-view, since I haven't seen a Chibios/RT port for any of the the soft processor cores, apart from Altera's Nios II). Would pricing for these devices be worth your effort?

Cheers!
Last edited by klyttle on Wed Jan 07, 2015 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AndreyB
Site Admin
Github Username: rusefillc
Slack: Andrey B

Re: Hello from Toronto, Canada

Post by AndreyB »

Hey Kris and welcome :)
klyttle wrote:1. I assume you're planning future versions of your "Frankenso" board (now that you're looking to using the TMS570). I hope the new board is a little smaller that what you currently have, because the current one is pretty big.
TMS570 might take a while and the smaller board is Frankenstein which might get an on-board power supply one day.