Page 1 of 1

Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 12:53 pm
by Boostonabudget
so not sure what the go is but cannot get any sort of decent idle, I ether have to set a manual tps value and deal with fluctuating rpm or setting closed loop makes timing go retarded (idle at neg 10?) and trys to close the tb.
I set parameters for both open and closed loop as it doesn't go into closed loop straight away and refuses to stay running without both (or so it seems) very confusing and not sure what I'm doing wrong.
here is the link to my tune https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=494

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:00 pm
by Simon@FutureProof
Your problem is you are commanding negative timing values by putting negative values in the idle advance table.
image.png
image.png (14.92 KiB) Viewed 13876 times

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:05 pm
by Boostonabudget
you'll have to explain further. I don't have enough information to understand what numbers I'm supposed to put into some tables, there isnt any specification on what setting can only take positive or what can take both

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:12 pm
by Simon@FutureProof
It also looks like you are trying to combine an incorrect idle advance table with the closed loop ignition timing. Thus the firmware is struggling to cope.

Problems I can see instantly:

Advance needs to be positive, try the values in the table below.
image.png
image.png (35.69 KiB) Viewed 13869 times
Your idle deadzone is set to 950rpm. This will disable the closed loop when the RPM is within 950rpm of the 1200 target. Literally it will stop the closed loop working from 250rpm to 2150rmp.
This needs to be dropped to something like 50 rpm, it is intended to stop over active idle corrections when close to the target.

My sugestion is that you turn off the closed loop timing adjustment and get it to idle normally with just the idle air adjustment and the "separate advance table for idle".

Once that is stable then try getting the closed loop timing to work on top.

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:17 pm
by Simon@FutureProof
Just to note here, the ignition timing tables are advance tables.
They dictate the amount of degrees the ECU will advance the spark timing before TDC.

If you put positive values you get advance and timing will be BTDC, Negative values are ignition retard and cause the spark to be after TDC.

This is true for all ignition advance tables.

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:18 pm
by Boostonabudget
see that information right there is what ive needed the whole time. I would never have been able to figure out how the hell that table is meant to be filled out, how does the table correct for over rpm tho? thats what i don't understand, or is it more just rpm/ignition table with idle adjusted with tb? because the tb does not move for load. fans will kick on and itll just drop to 600 rpm

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:25 pm
by Boostonabudget
OrchardPerformance wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:17 pm
Just to note here, the ignition timing tables are advance tables.
They dictate the amount of degrees the ECU will advance the spark timing before TDC.

If you put positive values you get advance and timing will be BTDC, Negative values are ignition retard and cause the spark to be after TDC.

This is true for all ignition advance tables.
yeah i do understand advance and retard but I'm not very experienced with tuner studio and seeing as al the tables here are customised i wasnt sure how they were coded

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:33 pm
by BeerMoneyMotorsports
Having the idle VE and timing tables populated with some sort of base in the stock tunes would be helpful. When you are given basically a blank graph, its hard to know which way to go.

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:44 pm
by Boostonabudget
BeerMoneyMotorsports wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 1:33 pm
Having the idle VE and timing tables populated with some sort of base in the stock tunes would be helpful. When you are given basically a blank graph, its hard to know which way to go.
exactly!! there is buggar all factory stuff that i can find so everything feels like guess work and i hate it lol

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:30 pm
by Simon@FutureProof
Have you looked at similar engines on rusEFI.com/online?

While not all of the maps are perfect or ideal for your engine they will give an idea of what you might need to do for yours.

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 4:36 pm
by BeerMoneyMotorsports
i have looked a little. How can i tell if the tune i am looking at is actually a working tune and not just something that was uploaded needing help?

Ultimately we need to have a solid base tune for all users to get started with ALONG with proper descriptions in Tuner Studio.

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 5:04 pm
by dbh97
@Boostonabudget do you have any suggestions for correcting the wording to make more sense?
Reading over your issue, the first thing that comes to mind is adding "width" to the idle deadzone field.

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 5:52 pm
by mck1117
Here's the tune from my car. I don't use any closed loop airflow idle, only closed loop timing, because that's all it needed. https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=495

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:30 pm
by Boostonabudget
dbh97 wrote:@Boostonabudget do you have any suggestions for correcting the wording to make more sense?
Reading over your issue, the first thing that comes to mind is adding "width" to the idle deadzone field.
I wasn't even aware it said width. My assumption was that it's target rpm lol.

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk


Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:31 pm
by Boostonabudget
mck1117 wrote:Here's the tune from my car. I don't use any closed loop airflow idle, only closed loop timing, because that's all it needed. https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?msq=495
Ill have a go through your tune and compare bits. You seem to be having way more luck than me

Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk


Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:33 pm
by mck1117
Boostonabudget wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:30 pm
My assumption
problem identified

please read the tooltips
image.png
image.png (17.97 KiB) Viewed 13828 times

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 10:20 pm
by Boostonabudget
mck1117 wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:33 pm
Boostonabudget wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:30 pm
My assumption
problem identified

please read the tooltips

image.png
Yeah I try to but half are missing or I don't understand them

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2021 7:17 am
by Boostonabudget
have up,loaded a new tune with the information i have been given, its definitely better but no were close to what i want, tries to idel at positive 16 now and hunts, any help?
https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?log=201
https://rusefi.com/online/view.php?log=202

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2021 4:32 pm
by Simon@FutureProof
Can you ID which tune was used for those logs? There is now 6 tunes in there and it's hard to ID which one is correct.

Going by the ID on the log your idle is still messed up as you have not corrected the things highlighted already in this thread.

Please fix the things we have already pointed out and try again.

Re: Closed Loop idle issues

Posted: Sun Apr 25, 2021 1:39 am
by Boostonabudget
OrchardPerformance wrote:
Fri Apr 23, 2021 4:32 pm
Can you ID which tune was used for those logs? There is now 6 tunes in there and it's hard to ID which one is correct.

Going by the ID on the log your idle is still messed up as you have not corrected the things highlighted already in this thread.

Please fix the things we have already pointed out and try again.
Yeah I can probably do a new log with a new tune file and see if that helps. I'm not sure how to change the Id to seperate logs yet.
Afaik it idles great atm but will upload the latest tune with a log to see what needs to be changed